Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Danish Chamber Players

Ensemble Storstrøm © Julia Severinsen

The Danish Chamber Players (Ensemble Storstrøm), based in the modern art and music house KUMUS at the Fuglsang Manor on Lolland, are one of the five Danish ensembles which between them provide a more substantial presence for professionavl classical music in otherwise sparsely covered areas of Denmark. The ensemble was founded in 1991 and consists of eight high-profile chamber musicians in a unique instrumental composition: three string players, three wind players, piano and harp. With first-class classical concerts and an extroverted music pedagogical effort, the ensemble creates great classical moments through various activities. The ensemble holds between 80-100 concerts and events every year. Alternative concert rooms and formats help convey the music to a diverse audience.

Over the years, more than 110 new works have been commissioned by the ensemble from prominent composers. With more than 30 CD recordings, numerous radio transmissions and international collaborations, the Danish Chamber Players act as cultural ambassadors for Danish chamber music and their region, both nationally and internationally. The ensemble is supported by the Danish Arts Foundation, the Cultural Region of Storstrøm and its four municipalities, Næstved, Faxe, Lolland and Guldborgsund.

  • Kasper Rofelt


  • Martin Lohse

    Collage de temps

  • Bo Lundby-Jæger

    Chamber Music and Songs

  • Lars Hegaard

    Chamber Music

  • Ib Nørholm


  • Jørgen Bentzon

    Chamber Music

  • Per Nørgård

    Singe die Gärten

  • Svend Hvidtfelt Nielsen

    Into the Black

  • Ole Buck


  • Mogens Winkel Holm

    Chamber Music