Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Århus Sinfonietta

Århus Sinfonietta © Kåre Viemose

Since its foundation, Århus Sinfonietta has been a leading and pioneering institution in contemporary music in Denmark. The ensemble was formed in 1990 by a group of musicians from the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra and the Jutland Ensemble in collaboration with composer Hans Abrahamsen. The ensemble comprises 17 permanent members covering all instrument groups in a symphony orchestra. The repertoire includes works for larger ensembles, chamber music and music for solo instruments.

Århus Sinfonietta takes its role as a central Danish institution for experimental music seriously. Therefore, the ensemble commissions a range of new works tailored to their instrumentation each year and collaborates with a wide range of composers.

Over the years, Århus Sinfonietta has had several prominent artistic directors. Today, the ensemble is managed by an artistic committee and a professional administration. They work diligently to ensure a wide range of artistic expression and diverse representation within the contemporary music scene.

  • Hugi Guðmundsson

    The Gospel of Mary

  • SVIN

    ELEGI (LP)

  • Svend Hvidtfelt Nielsen

    Ophelia Dances

  • Axel Borup-Jørgensen


  • Anders Nordentoft

    Light Imprisoned

  • Niels Rosing-Schow

    Granito y arco iris

  • Hans-Henrik Nordstrøm

    Works for Sinfonietta

  • Bent Lorentzen


  • Tage Nielsen

    Orchestral Works

  • Thomas Agerfeldt Olesen


  • Svend Nielsen

    Works for Sinfonietta