Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Turku Philharmonic Orchestra


The Turku Musical Society, which later formed the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra, was founded in 1790. As the oldest orchestra in Finland, the ensemble continues to develop and flourish under the baton of renowned conductors. From 2012 to 2019, the orchestra’s 74 musicians have been under the artistic leadership of Leif Segerstam. The orchestra’s principal guest conductor is Julian Rachlin, and its resident composer is Mikko Heiniö. Several of the Turku Philharmonic’s ­recordings have been awarded platinum discs and other prizes. In 2019 the orchestra won the International Classical Music Award for Best Collection with their recording of Jean Sibelius’s Incidental Music. In 2009 the orchestra was awarded the EMMA Classical Album of the Year for the recording Transient Moods.

The orchestra gives weekly concerts, often streamed live throughout the world, while its chamber music ensembles perform in the historic venues of Turku. The orchestra also organises family concerts and performs in opera productions. The Turku Philharmonic is a pioneer in audience accessibility, providing access to concerts online in hospitals, residential care homes and schools.

  • Otto Malling, Ludolf Nielsen, P.E. Lange-Müller, August Enna, Carl Nielsen, Louis Glass, Niels W. Gade, Johan Svendsen