Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Ian van Rensburg

© Nikolaj Lund

Danish violinist Ian van Rensburg has been 1st concert master of the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra since 1993. He has been enjoying a versatile international career as an active soloist, chamber musician and teacher alongside his career as concert master. Ian van Rensburg studied at the Juilliard School, New York City with legendary teachers Dorothy DeLay and Naoko Tanaka where he earned both his Bachelors and Masters degrees and studied later on with Prof. Gerhard Schulz at the Hochschule für Musik in Vienna. Ian van Rensburg appeared as a soloist and chamber musician in Denmark, France, Germany, South Africa, Greenland and the USA.

  • Friedrich Kuhlau, Christian Frederik Barth, Niels W. Gade

    Concertos from 19th Century Denmark

  • Knudåge Riisager

    Violin Concerto – Etudes