Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Frans Rasmussen


Frans Rasmussen was born in Aalborg in 1944. Trained at the Royal Academy of Music in Copenhagen as a pianist and conductor, where he later on became a lecturer. His teachers included Jørgen Jersild, who urged him to take up the study of conducting. He has conducted, among other orchestras, those of the Royal Danish Theatre in Copen­hagen, and the Danish National Opera in Århus. He has conducted all the Danish regional orchestras and has been a guest conductor in most European countries. For his recording of Carl Nielsen’s complete works for a cappella choir Frans Ras­mussen was awarded the Grand Prix du Disque; he was nominated Conductor of the Year 1986 by EBU and received the Danish Broad­casting Corpo­ration’s Bolero Prize for the initiation of the recordings of Niels W. Gade’s complete works for soloists, choir and orchestra. Since 1988 he has cooperated with the composer György Ligeti. Frans Rasmussen headed the Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra for the Danish premiere of Ligeti’s Violin Concerto and has given concerts in Europe with Ligeti and the Asko Ensemble from Amsterdam. With the Canzone Choir he has also recorded Rued Langgaard’s Sinfonia interna, as well as Danish Romantic A Cappella, for Dacapo

  • Niels Otto Raasted

    Works for a cappella Choir

  • Peter Heise

    The Sleeping Beauty

  • Christian Barnekow, Frederik Rung, Jakob Fabricius, Julius Bechgaard, Otto Malling

    Danish Romantic A Cappella

  • Rued Langgaard

    Sinfonia interna

  • Nancy Dalberg


  • Ivar Frounberg

    Orchestral Works

  • Mogens Winkel Holm

    Chamber Music

  • Bent Lorentzen