Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Søren Nils Eichberg

Henning Harms

Søren Nils Eichberg has recently been appointed the first composer-in-residence in the history of the Danish National Orchestra (also known as The Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra). For three years he will thus put his mark on one of the leading orchestras in Scandinavia.

Eichberg was born in 1973 in Stuttgart, Germany, grew up in Denmark and today lives and works in Berlin. He studied piano and orchestra conducting in Copenhagen and Cologne, but his break-through came as a composer when winning the Queen Elisabeth Competition of Belgium in 2001. Since then, he has risen to become one of the most distinctive composers of his generation. His works have been performed in most European countries as well as in Japan, China, Korea, Australia and the US and have been radio broadcast in the US and europewide.

Eichberg has been commissioned works by Ensemble Modern, Hilary Hahn, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Radio Symphony Orchestra Saarbrücken, the Opera House of Münster and the Theatre of Stendal, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie, the International Festival in Bergen in Norway, the International Piano Competition Ferruccio Busoni, the International ARD Music Competition and the Japanese Viva Hall Cello Competition.

His output since 2001 includes more than 30 works, among others a symphony; cello-, piano- and violin concertos; an opera as well as solo-, chamber- and ensemble music.

His prizes and awards include the Composition Fellowship of the Tanglewood Music Festival, the 3-year Composition Grant of the Danish Ministry of Culture, the Composition Stipend of the German Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, the Civitella Ranieri Fellowship (Italy / New York) and the Composition Prize of the Onassis Public Benefit Foundation.

Eichberg's works are published by Edition Wilhelm Hansen (Music Sales) and Universal Edition Wien.

As a conductor he has worked with: Südwestfälische Philharmonie, Junge Münchner Philharmonie, Danish Radio Symphony, Ensemble Kaleidoskop Berlin, Österreichisches Ensemble für Neue Musik and soloists from the Munich and Berlin Philharmonic.