Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

The Danish String Quartet

Caroline Bittencourt

The Danish String Quartet, formerly known as the Young Danish String Quartet, made its debut at the Copenhagen Summer Festival in 2002. In the course of remarkably short time the quartet drew attention to itself for its highly committed musicianship and enthralling style, and the ensemble quickly established itself as the most promising news in the classical music world in Denmark. After winning the Danish Radio P2 Chamber Music Competition in 2004 the quartet's good name was established in Denmark, and the four young musicians have since then been frequent guests in Danish festivals, music societies and international chamber music venues.

The Danish String Quartet has participated in numerous chamber music competitions with great success. After winning the P2 competition as the youngest winners ever, they proceeded to win 1. Prize in Vagn Holmboe String Quartet Competition and the Charles Hennen International Chamber Music Competition in Holland. The Danish String Quartet won the 1. Prize and the Audience Prize in the Trondheim International String Quartet Competition in 2005. In March 2009 they won the First Prize in the Eleventh London International String Quartet Competition. The Danish String Quartet were also awarded four other prizes: The 20th Century Prize, the Beethoven Prize, the Sidney Griller Award and the Menton Festival Prize.

In 2006 the Danish Radio made the Danish String Quartet 'Artist in Residence' and this led to solo performances with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra and the Danish National Chamber Orchestra playing works by Elgar and O. A. Thommesen. It also gave the quartet the opportunity to record all Carl Nielsen's string quartets in the Danish Radio Concert Hall. The recordings were released on the Dacapo label in 2007 and 2008 and they were hailed by the critics as extremely successful recordings.