Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

The Symphonies (DVD)

Ludwig van Beethoven

The Symphonies (DVD)

Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos

★★★★ “A very welcome and important tribute” Pizzicato

The Spanish Maestro Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos (1933-2014) concluded his acclaimed international conducting career of almost six decades with two memorable years as the venerated Principal Conductor of the Danish National Symphony Orchestra. Recorded live in concert at the new DR Koncerthuset in Copenhagen, this exclusive DVD box set combines Frühbeck de Burgos’ powerful interpretation of the complete Symphonies by Ludwig van Beethoven with his spectacular renderings of Symphonie fantastique by Hector Berlioz and Richard Strauss’s Eine Alpensinfonie as well as Joaquín Rodrigo’s popular Concierto de Aranjuez, featuring the world-renowned Spanish guitarist Pepe Romero.



  • DVD (NTSC)
    Box deluxe
    499,00349,30 kr.
    €46.97 / $48.73 / £40.34
    Add to cart
Per Morten Abrahamsen
"Lovingly presented high-quality live audiovisual recordings from Copenhagen that bring Frühbeck back to life and reinforce his memory"
Pablo L. Rodríguez, El País
"This box set should be on every classical music fan's wish list for Christmas."
Peter Dürrfeld, Kristeligt Dagblad
"Video is exemplary, as is audio, and it is a pleasure to watch this virtuoso orchestra"
Robert Benson, Classical CD Review
"An excellent release. The real deal without phony interpretations"
John Christiansen, jcklassisk
'A very welcome and important tribute to a great conductor'
Remy Franck, Pizzicato
"Consider this release a testimonial to one of the greats of the musical world and one to treasure and share with your family and friends"
Lawrence D. Devoe, TheaterByte

The Symphonies were recorded during the two-year period in which Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos led the Danish National Symphony Orchestra.

The box set includes a 100-page booklet with an extensive essay by the Danish composer and writer Karl Aage Rasmussen, who authoritatively takes the reader through Beethoven's nine Symphonies. The book is presented in four languages – English and Danish as well as Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos's own languages German and Spanish.

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21 (1799/1800)
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36 (1801-1802)

Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 55 “Eroica” (1803-05)
Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 60 (1806)

Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67 (1804-1808)
Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 “Pastoral” (1808)

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92 (1811-12)
Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93 (1812)

Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 “Choral” (1822-1824) †
RODRIGO Concierto de Aranjuez (1939) *

BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14 (1830)
STRAUSS Eine Alpensinfonie (An Alpine Symphony), Op. 64 (1911-1915)


†    Albina Shagimuratova, soprano; Charlotte Hellekant, mezzo-soprano; Scott MacAllister, tenor; Johan Reuter, bass; the Danish National Concert Choir

*    Pepe Romero, guitar


Release date: 
October 2016
Cat. No.: 
Box deluxe
Track count: 


Recorded at DR Koncerthuset, Copenhagen
Beethoven: No. 1 (6-7 September 2012), No. 2 (13-14 September 2012), No. 3 (6-7 December 2012), No. 4 (24-25 January 2013), No. 5 (21-22 March 2013), No. 6 (25-26 April 2013), No. 7 (24-25 May 2013), Symphonies Nos. 8-9 (30-31 May & 1 June 2013); Berlioz (24-25 January 2013), Rodrigo (21-22 March 2013), Strauss (23 January 2014)

Recording producer: Bernhard Güttler
Balance engineer: Jan Oldrup
Surround mix: Bernhard Güttler, Jan Oldrup
Sound technicians: Jens Langkilde, Johnny Foght Wiinholt, Bjarne Lillevang Jensen

Camera: Ivan Strand, Thomas Larsen, Gustav Strångert, Peter Sandager, Ulrik Gedsted, Stig Bomholt, Rasmus Vilhelmsen, Thomas Ravn, Morten Jensen, Christian Frisk-Puggaard, Nikolaj Beenfeldt, Philippe-Albert Hesselmann, Claus Sisseck, Michael Molsø, Thomas Søgaard, Henrik Harpelund, Thomas Jessen, Poul Ernstved, Amdi Brøner, Peter Utzon, Dorte Bach, Jane Stokholm

Light: Hans Sander
CCU: Tom Ludvigsen, Flemming Pedersen, Tim Birk Hansen, Dennis Bruun, Ole Jensen, Erik Lundby, Niels-Jørgen Riisfeldt

TV editing: Henrik Møll
Video editing: Uli Peschke
Colour grading: Jan Hartmann

Production managers: Susan Larsen, Trice Angie Christiansen
Video director: Arne J. Rasmussen
Head of TV Project: Thomas Christensen

Executive producers: Gordon Alsing, Dominik Falenski, Curt Kollavik Jensen
Orchestra managers: Nina Ulf Jørgensen, Henrik Overgaard Kristensen, Jakob Helmer Mørck, Benedikte Artved
Choir manager: Peter G. Tönshoff
Coordination for DNSO: Hans Sørensen, Dominik Falenski
Director of Danish National Symphony Orchestra and Danish National Concert Choir: Kim Bohr

Graphic design: Denise Burt,

Photos: © Per Morten Abrahamsen

Distributed by Dacapo Records,