Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Danish Wind Octet

The Danish Wind Octet was formed in 1987 by soloists from the leading Danish orchestras. In addition to the well known octets of Mozart, Beethoven, and Haydn its repertoire includes rarely heard works by Dvorak, Krommer, Hummel and other composers from the Romantic period to the present. In 1991 the octet won the Danish Radio Chamber Music Competition, in which no less than 25 of the best ensembles in the country took part. In 1992 the octet won second prize at the International Chamber Music Competition in Martigny, Switzerland. This success has led to a number of recording projects including the complete octets of Mozart. The ensemble gives frequent recitals in musical associations and churches as well as at Danish and international festivals. Four of the five octets recorded here were written specifically for the Danish Wind Octet and first performed by them.
  • Herman D. Koppel, Sven Erik Werner, Asger Lund Christiansen, Svend S. Schultz, Lars Graugaard

    Wind Octets