Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Collegium Musicum Copenhagen


Collegium Musicum Copenhagen was established in 1981 with Michael Schønwandt as the Principal Conductor of the Orchestra. For several years Collegium Musicum Copenhagen was a firm, very popular institution in Copenhagen music life. Every year the ensemble gave five subscription concerts with eminent conductors and soloists. Until 1992 the orchestra played in the Odd Fellow Concert Hall with its rich historic tradition, but efter the building burned down they used the Tivoli Concert Hall for their concert series.

The core of the orchestra consisted of 42 musicians with everyday jobs in other orchestras mostly in the Royal Orchestra and the Danish National Symphony Orchestra. The orchestra's many activities also included touring, first and foremost in Denmark, but also in Norway, Sweden, France and Germany. In addition, the orchestra was involved in many recordings over the years.

  • Edouard Dupuy

    Ungdom og Galskab (Youth and Folly)

  • Poul Ruders


  • Niels W. Gade

    Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2

  • Niels W. Gade

    Symphonies Nos. 4 and 6

  • Niels W. Gade

    Symphonies Nos. 7 and 8

  • Niels W. Gade

    Symphonies Nos. 3 and 5