Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Birgitte Bærentzen Pihl

Birgitte Bærentzen Pihl began studying the violin at the early age of three with Tove Detreköy. In 1985 she went to the Academy of Music, where she started with Professor Tutter Givskov. She made her debut from the soloist class in 1993 and the same year as a solo player in the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra. In 1993 she and her piano trio were selected for a one-month master course with Isaac Stern and Yo Yo Ma. In 1996 she was a prizewinner in the Danish Radio P2 chamber music competition with her trio TSIAJ, which mainly plays contemporary music. She has been a soloist with the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, the Zealand Symphony Orchestra and with the Århus Sinfonietta has premiered Peter Bruun’s violin concerto, which was written for her.
  • Birgitte Alsted, Simon Christensen, Fuzzy, Eva Noer Kondrup, Ib Nørholm, Morten Olsen, Kasper Rofelt, Martin Stauning, Line Tjørnhøj, Nicolai Worsaae

    EDUCATE·S – Pieces for Violin

  • Simon Christensen

    MANIFEST – But There's No Need To Shout

  • Arshak Ikilikian