Subscribe to Dacapo's newsletter

Danish National Symphony Orchestra

Per Morten Abrahamsen

The Danish National Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1925 under the motto: “The best, and only the best”. Today it is one of the leading symphony orchestras in Europe with visits by the world’s leading conductors and soloists. The strong and straightforward personality of the Orchestra is rooted in its close relationship with Danish and Nordic music and it is acknowledged to be one of the world’s leading Carl Nielsen orchestras.

From 2012 until his death in June 2014, the orchestra’s chief conductor was the Spanish maestro Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos. Already a few months later, the Orchestra announced its current principal conductor, Italian Fabio Luisi. The Orchestra’s honorary conductors are Thomas Dausgaard, who resigned as principal conductor of the Orchestra in 2011, and Herbert Blomstedt, principal conductor from 1967 to 1977. The Danish National Symphony Orchestra’s latest first guest conductors have been Yuri Temirkanov, Michael Schønwandt and Dmitri Kitajenko.

The home of the Orchestra is DR Koncerthuset, built in 2009, designed by the famous French architect Jean Nouvel.