Tilmeld dig Dacapos nyhedsbrev

Aalborg Symphony Orchestra


Aalborg Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1943 and has since had the following Principal Conductors: Jens Schrøder (1943-79); Janos Fürst (1980-83); and Peter Erös (1983-89); and since September 1995 the Welshman Owain Arwel Hughes has been Principal Conductor. In the period 1959-81 Alf Sjøen was also regularly engaged as conductor.

The ensemble is the regional orchestra for North Jutland, and with 63 regular musicians, many of whom also work as music teachers, the orchestra gives about 150 concerts a year in many musical contexts.

First and foremost, Aalborg Symphony Orchestra meets the musical needs of North Jutland with the big symphony concerts in the Aalborg Hall and around the region. The orchestra also plays an important role as an opera and ballet orchestra in guest performances at the Royal Danish Opera in Copenhagen and Den jyske Opera (The Danish National Opera), and at special - not always orthodox - events. In addition it functions as a studio orchestra for students of conducting at the Royal Danish Academy of Music.

Aalborg Symphony Orchestra has recorded several CDs. Most recently, two CDs with Wayne Marshall as soloist and conductor in a series of Gershwin interpretations have won international recognition.