Dansk Dansk    US Dollars (change)
Dacapo Home
Dacapo - The National Music Anthology of Denmark


Winners of the P2 Prize 2011

At the end of September the DR P2 Prize 2011 was awarded at a gala concert in the DR Concert Hall. The Danish radio listeners had voted on which CD releases should win in the four prize categories. A whole three of them were released by Dacapo Records.

Solo/Chamber Release of the Year

The prize for Solo/Chamber Release of the Year went to the Australian pianist Tonya Lemoh, who had recorded solo piano works by Svend Erik Tarp. The CD has been acclaimed in both the Danish and the international press, and earlier in the year was proclaimed "surprise of the year" by P2; it has also been selected as "CD of the Month" by the magazine MusicWeb International.


Buy or download Svend Erik Tarp: Piano Works

Vocal Release of the Year

In the category Vocal Release of the Year, it was the conductor Thomas Dausgaard who was invited to mount the stage to receive the P2 Prize for the release of Rued Langgaard's Music of the Spheres with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra and Choir and four vocal soloists. The recording involved more than 150 performers, and concludes Dausgaard and the DNSO's 12 years of work recording Rued Langgaard's orchestral music.



Buy or download Rued Langgaard: Music of the Spheres


The Lyt til Nyt Prize

The last category at Friday's P2 Prize Gala was the Lyt til Nyt Prize, which was awarded to Ars Nova Copenhagen's recording of Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen's choral music under the baton of Chief Conductor Paul Hillier. Although most of the works are sung in Danish, the CD has been acclaimed by classical music reviewers from France, England, the USA and Germany.


Buy or download The Natural World of Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen

A CC Music Store Solution