Dansk Dansk    US Dollars (change)
Dacapo Home
Dacapo - The National Music Anthology of Denmark

Figura Ensemble  


Figura Ensemble consists of composer Peter Bruun, author Ursula Andkjær Olsen, graphic artist Filippa Berg Lund, mezzo-soprano Helene Gjerris, percussionist Frans Hansen, clarinettist Anna Klett and double bass player Jesper Egelund.

The Figura Ensemble has existed since 1992, starting with a group of young, enthusiastic Royal Academy students who are now professionals with a great love of contemporary composition music. Over the years the ensemble has urged a large number of Danish composers, from young students to established figures, to write for this very unusually composed ensemble. Time after time, Figura has put together unique programmes ranging from powerful vocal drama, soft vocalizations and ‘classical’ improvisation music to hard-core electro-acoustic music, a field in which Figura is one of the few ensembles in Denmark to work continuously.

In 2002 Peter Bruun wrote the music for the successful opera MIKI Alone for Figura Ensemble, for which he recieved the Nordic Council Music Price in 2008.

Live Dates


Miki Alone - Seven songs for a mad woman
Miki Alone - Seven songs for a mad woman
Peter Bruun

CD 8.226555 (2008)

Virtuos kammeropera belønnet med Nordisk Råds Musikpris

... to arrive where we started ...
... to arrive where we started ...

CD 8.224143 (2000)

Ny dansk musik fra 1990’erne med avantgarde-ensemblet Figura

A CC Music Store Solution